Glasgow herald online dating who is vera wang dating
The sauchie haugh or willow meadow from which the street derives its name was probably a low-lying area located near what would later become Charing Cross.The development of Sauchiehall Street was part of the westward growth of the city, spurred by the desire of wealthy merchants to own property on the outskirts.The policeman on point duty has stopped traffic so that the tramcar can turn right into Sauchiehall Street from Renfield Street. ) A tramcar heading for the International Exhibition at Kelvingrove Park is just turning into Sauchiehall Street from Renfield Street in this 1901 scene.Three years earlier, the name of the church had been changed to Renfield Street Church of Scotland and it continued as such until it closed in 1964 when the congregation became part of what it now known as Renfield St. The city where the Industrial Revolution began was hosting its second great International Exhibition and the recent electrification of the tramway system served to further showcase Glasgow’s achievements.
Each route was colour-coded and car 664 in the foreground would have had chrome yellow panels above the windows, bearing route information, probably similar to that of the car in the background.The curious light-coloured building next door is the Salon Cinema which opened in June 1913.It was designed in the Moorish style by Thomas Baird and the facade was finished in square tiles set in a diagonal pattern.The Empire Theatre, 35 Sauchiehall Street Looking from the Empire Theatre diagonally across the intersection with Renfield Street was the Central Halls Building, a complex of offices, shops and a hall, designed by the architect James Thomson.
The Royalty theatre opened there in 1879 and became famous for comedies, opera and plays.A young girl is focussed on the photographer in this view looking east along Sauchiehall Street towards Armstrong’s Hotel and Parliamentary Road in the distance.